Agencies under the Terms of the Former “Second Pillar” of the European Union


Between 1993 and 2009, the EU consisted of three pillars. This structure was introduced with the Treaty of Maastricht in 1993, and was eventually abandoned in 2009, with the entry into force of the Treaty of Lisbon, which among others abolished the so-called second pillar of the EU “Common Foreign and Security Policy”. Today this role was taken over by several institutions and agencies, established for solving relevant questions, for examle the European Union Institute for Security Studies (EUISS), the European Union Satellite Centre (EUSC) and the European Defence Agency (EDA). The difference is that national acencies solve problems separately, whereas EU agency take into account commont foreign and security policy, under the supervision of the EU.

Mgr. Miloslav Havlín, Ph.D., born in 1963. He is a graduate from the Faculty of Law of the Masaryk University in Brno. From 1993 to 2001 he worked in the Legal Department of the Ministry of Defense. In 2002 he began working as a lecturer at the Military Academy in Brno and this activity he held until 2006. Since 2006 he has worked as a lawyer at the University of Defence in Brno and at the same time at this university lectures. He primarily deals with issues of administrative law and European law.

Country: Czech Republic


Latest from Havlín Miloslav

Leave a comment